Providing a unique mixture of sessions on training, education, and applications and papers containing details about state-of-the-art techniques and future developments in X-ray analysis.

ChemplexPANalytical s s s

2012 Program

Program Cover 2012
(Click program image to view PDF)

The 61st Annual Conference on Applications of X-ray Analysis - The Denver X-ray Conference will be held 6-10 August 2012, at the Denver Marriott Tech Center Hotel, Denver, CO. The 2012 Program is now available! Please check back often for changes made to the program.

Plenary session: “New Frontiers in X-ray Analysis - Dedicated to the life and work of Robert L. Snyder”

Conference Proceedings

Don't miss this opportunity to showcase your research by submitting your presented paper to the DXC conference proceedings, Advances in X-ray Analysis, Volume 56 on CD. Work presented during either an oral session or poster session is eligible for submission. Select papers will also be published in the journal, Powder Diffraction.

See the Guidelines for the Preparation of Manuscripts. The deadline for submission is 4 September 2012.

Note: To be accepted for publication, papers should describe new methods, theory and applications, improvements in methods or instrumentation, or other advances in the state of the art. Papers emphasizing commercial aspects are discouraged.

Advances in X-ray Analysis is distributed throughout the world, and the complete manuscripts of Volumes 40–52 (1996– 2008) can also be viewed on the ICDD website.

Have an idea for a workshop or session?

If there is a topic missing from the DXC Program that would make for a great workshop or session, please let the DXC Organizing Committee know. Submit your ideas for consideration for the 2014 Conference Program.



2013 Information

The 62nd Annual DXC will be held 5-9 August 2013 at The Westin Westminster, Westminster, CO, USA - See the 2013 Tentative Schedule

Keep "in the know" by following our Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn

2012 NEWS:

The 2012 DXC was a success! - Read the Summary

The 2012 Birks Award was bestowed posthumously to John Criss.

The 2012 Cohen Award was given to Magnus Menzel, Institut für Anorganische und Angewandte Chemie, Universität Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany, for his work, “CONFUCAL μ-XRF XANES ANALYSIS OF CATHODE ELECTROYTE INTERFACE OF LITHIUM-ION BATTERIES”.

Green Initiatives

Mobile Guidebook

Download our mobile guide to enhance your experience at DXC 2012.
You’ll be able to plan your day with a personalized schedule, browse exhibitors, view maps, and more. Best of all, it’s free!

The app is compatible with iPhone, iPads, iPod Touches, Android devices. Windows Phone 7 and Blackberry users can access the same information via our mobile site,

Dates to Remember

Opening of the “Call for Papers” 
January 2012
Opening of Exhibit Space    
1 February 2012
Deadline for submission of abstracts   
1 March 2012
Conference Program available online   
May 2012
Deadline for Pre-registration discount fee 
2 July 2012
Deadline to submit for Cohen Student Award  
2 July 2012
Deadline to apply for a Student Room
2 July 2012
Deadline to book host hotel room at conference rate
20 July 2012
Deadline to buy tickets for A Taste of Colorado Tour 25 July 2012
Deadline for submission of manuscripts
4 September 2012

Taste of Colorado Tour

All are invited on Thursday, 9 August, for a night of sampling Colorado’s finest microbrews and spirits. Visit Stranahan’s Colorado Whiskey Distillery and the Rackhouse Pub for a tour, tasting and more! Tickets cost $60.00 per person and include round-trip transportation via motor coach, a tour of the distillery, a microbrew tasting and whiskey sampling, and a pub-style pizza dinner. Sign-up by 25 July; tickets cannot be purchased at the conference or at the event.

Learn more.          

Denver X-ray Conference Organizing Committee

W. Tim Elam, Chair
Univ. of Washington, APL, Seattle, WA

John Anzelmo
Anzelmo & Associates, Inc., Madison, WI

Thomas Blanton, Co-chair
Eastman Kodak Co. Research Labs, Rochester, NY

Lora L. Brehm
Dow Chemical Company, Midland, MI

Tim Fawcett
ICDD, Newtown Square, PA

Denise Flaherty
ICDD, Newtown Square, PA

George Havrilla
Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, NM

James A. Kaduk
Poly Crystallography Inc., Naperville, IL

Terry Maguire
ICDD, Newtown Square, PA

Scott Misture
NYS College of Ceramics at Alfred University, Alfred, NY

Conal Murray
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY

Cev Noyan
Columbia University, New York, NY

Brian Toby
Argonne National Laboratory, Advanced Photon Source, Argonne, IL

Rene van Grieken
University of Antwerp, Antwerp, Belgium

Mary Ann Zaitz
IBM, Hopewell Junction, NY