Keep "in the know" by following our TwitterFacebookLinkedIn, and Instagram


Honoring Professor Jerome B. Cohen (1932–1999).

Known for his legendary contributions to Northwestern University, Jerry Cohen spent the majority of his career pursuing his true passion – teaching students. He served as Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, and Dean of the Robert R. McCormick School of Engineering and Applied Science. He helped initiate the development of the Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory Synchrotron Radiation Research Facility, and solicited major funding to develop one of its leading experimental research stations. Jerry held several patents, including one for a rapid portable X-ray device for measuring residual stresses in structural metals in the field. He was the author of more than 300 publications and four books. His book “Residual Stress: Measurement by Diffraction and Interpretation,” co-authored by Cev Noyan, is still the classic, fundamental textbook in the field.


See last year's recipients

Honoring Professor Robert L. Snyder (1941-2011).

An outstanding educator and researcher, Bob was Professor Emeritus of Ceramic Science at Alfred University, Chairman of Material Science and Engineering at The Ohio State University and co-chair of the School of Materials Science and Engineering at Georgia Tech. He was chairman of both the ICDD and the Denver X-ray Conference, traveled extensively and interacted with scientists from around the world. His research focused on the characterization of advanced materials by X-ray diffraction, especially advanced ceramics and nanomaterials. Bob presented over 1,000 talks, authored numerous publications and textbooks, and was known as an international ambassador of material science and characterization. He was known for his passion for science and life. Bob served as ICDD Chairman of the Board of Directors from 1996 to 2000.


See last year's recipients


Robert L. Snyder Student Travel Award
Deadline: 1 June 2017
In pursuing its dynamic commitment to the education of the scientific community, the International Centre for Diffraction Data is offering limited travel support to help students attend the 2017 Denver X-ray Conference.

Grants are awarded in the amount of $500 for undergraduate or graduate students living within the USA, and $1,000 for those living outside of the USA. Students are required to participate in the technical program by submitting an abstract for oral or poster presentation.

Please complete a Robert L. Snyder Student Travel Award Application to apply. Submit the completed application form, a copy of your abstract and a supporting letter from your research advisor.

Submit Application To:
Robert L. Snyder Student Travel Award
International Centre for Diffraction Data
12 Campus Boulevard
Newtown Square, PA 19073-3273
Fax: (610) 325-9823


2016 Robert L. Snyder Student Travel Award Recipients - (l-r)
He Zhang, Scott McCormack, Sixberth Mlowe, Adelita Mendoza, Lara Maldanis, Valentina Aguilar


Jerome B. Cohen Student Award
Deadline: 1 June 2017
This award was instituted in the name of Professor Jerome B. Cohen, one of the leaders in the field of X-ray analysis, and in the training of students in this art. The award is intended to recognize the outstanding achievements of student research in this field. All students, graduate or undergraduate, who are working in the field of X-ray analysis, can submit a technical paper describing their work. The winner will be selected by a committee of researchers in the field, and notified one week before the conference. The award for the year 2017 will be in the amount of $1,000. The following criteria applies:

  • The research must be original, of high quality, and must be primarily the work of the student.
  • Papers submitted to the Cohen Award must be presented at the conference in either oral or poster session. Thus, all first-author students must submit an abstract and also attend the conference.
  • The winner must be able to attend the Plenary session of the conference on Wednesday morning for the announcement of the award.
  • Papers must be submitted along with a Cohen Student Award Certification Form.
  • Please follow the same format guidelines as manuscripts submitted for the conference proceedings, Advances in X-ray Analysis. The Guidelines for the Preparation of Manuscripts are available online. Students competing for the award are required to submit their manuscript to Advances in X-ray Analysis, and include a signed Publishing Agreement, also available online.
  • Papers must be submitted electronically, as an e-mail attachment, created as either a Microsoft®Word (Word XP – 2010) document or as a PDF file (Portable Document File). Please e-mail the file to If you do not receive confirmation that the manuscript was received within one week of your submission, contact the ICDD Conference Services Department by email or phone:; 610-325-9814.  

Student Rooms
There are a limited number of discounted hotel rooms being offered to students. Student room assignments will be scheduled up until 7 July 2017, subject to availability. Assignments will be made on a first come – first serve basis. Student rooms are shared - each room will be equipped with two double beds to accommodate two persons. The discounted room rate is $119/day - $59.50 per person (plus tax), and is available Friday 28 July – Sunday 6 August. Please complete a Student Room Authorization Form to apply.

Student Lunch
ICDD is sponsoring a complimentary student pizza lunch on Monday, July 31st at noon. Don’t miss this opportunity to meet with the DXC Organizing Committee who will help familiarize you with the conference as well as offer networking connections and industry advice.  You will also be able to meet the other students who are attending DXC. If you would like to join us for lunch please email Stephanie Jennings.

DXC in Big Sky